Balancing the Biome Summit
presented by
+

Eating Good: Food, Nutrition, Access and Exhaustion

As a continuation of 2021’s Balancing the Biome symposium, CRUDE and Humble Bloom are proud to announce the first of a three-part series focused on our bodies and biome’s health, being held Wednesday, April 27th.

Foodies, farmers, freegans and farmers’ market fiends - this one’s for you! This springtime get-together will dive into the world of nourishment and food systems. We’ll explore and expand narratives on food sovereignty, accessibility, and nutrition through diverse agricultural and culinary voices.

Featuring engaging firesides, DIY workshops, joyfully conscious activations and more, Eating Good encourages thoughtful consideration of the labor and love that goes into our every bite. Let’s dig deep and dig in!

When?
April 27th, 2022

Starts at 5pm MT

Wednesday

Timezones

Honolulu: 1pm

Los Angeles: 4pm

Salt Lake City: 5pm

Chicago: 6pm

New York: 7pm

biome biome biome biome
Agenda (begins 5pm MT)
5:00 pm
5:05 pm

SOUL MOMENT: A CONSCIOUS EATING EXPERIENCE 

Grab your favorite melon, some cucumber, or an orange for some mindful munching! This exercise explores food energetics and thoughtful awareness, encouraging discovery, compassion, and body connection.

~

Facilitator: Michelle Mitchum, MPH; Founder + CEO of The OrangeMoon Wellness

5:10 pm

IN CONVERSATION I: IMPERFECT FOOD | ECO NUTRITION

A fireside on accessibility and our pursuit of perfection at the cost of sustainability and our health.

~

Featuring: Patia Braithwaite, Well + Good Health Director

Justin Robinson, Ethnobotanist + Founding Member of Earthseed Land Collective

Chandler Rosenberg, Co-founder of Utah Food Coalition + Director of Plant Based Utah

5:35 pm

WORKSHOP: SENSIBLE SWEETS

Learn how to incorporate plants into baked yummies for health and happiness!

~

Facilitator: Patti Paige, Artist, Author + Owner of Baked Ideas


5:40 pm

PANEL + Q&A: EATING GOOD

The titular program connects culture, care, and community to feed the mind, body, and soul.

~

Moderator: Attia Taylor, Founder + Editor-in-Chief of Womanly Mag

Featuring: Sunny Cheeba, DJ, Land Steward + Uptown Vinyl Supreme Co-founder

Julia Collins, Founder + CEO of Planet FWD + Moonshot Snacks

Kofi Thomas, Community Builder, Founder of The Good Life Garden, Director of The Peoples Garden

Wen-Jay Ying, Local Roots Boss

6:15 pm

INTERMISSION

6:20 pm

BOTANICAL AND CULINARY TIES TO THE AFRICAN DIASPORA

A pensive look at how the ancient innovative practices of Indigenous Africans have shaped what we know as modern cuisine and plant medicine.

~

Facilitator: Mennlay Golokeh Aggrey, Author + Xula Herbs Co-founder

6:25 pm

IN CONVERSATION II: BROKEN PROMISES: EXHAUSTION OF THE LAND AND PEOPLE 

This fireside chat explores all things agricultural, from workers’ rights and land access, to reparations and sparking community action.

~

Moderator: Yessenia Funes, Atmos Climate Director

Panelists: Dr. Gabriela Pereyra, Co-Director of Northeast Farmers of Color Land Trust

Amber Tamm, Farmworker, Horticulturist + Floral Designer

6:50 pm

MUSIC CONNECT
Get into the groove with some live music.

~

Facilitator: Sunny Cheeba, DJ, Land Steward + Co-founder of Uptown Vinyl Supreme.

6:55 pm

CLOSE

A thank you and farewell with our MCs.

Who's Speaking?
Buy Tickets
  • Save $0
  • Save $0

Equity Fund

Like our biomes, communities thrive when each part of the larger system can rely on the others for connection, healing, and sustenance. We created the Equity Fund to provide 50 deserving community members with lesser means the opportunity to join us for the Balancing the Biome Summit.

Click here to apply